I had something happen to me today that reminded me how important it is to have boundaries.

And stick to them.

Far to often, whether or not I agreed with what I was being asked to do, I did it.  I didn’t question.  I did my job.  I did it 99% of the time with a smile.  I didn’t ask why.  Why didn’t matter.  Or, at least that’s what I thought.

Why matters.

I have had time to reflect on my career and what I’ve learned is that by being so agreeable, doing the job without raising to much of a fuss, being a “yes” woman and never questioning will make everyone around you happy.

Everyone around you.

Everyone but you.

I felt completely taken for granted.  Not valued.  And, you know what?  I finally decided that I was worth more than that.  I wanted needed to feel appreciated and valued and know that my work mattered.

The e-mail I received today reminded me of exactly why I left.

But, today was different.

Today, I put myself first.  Today, I protected my soul.  Today, I respected myself.

Today, I honored my boundaries.

