It’s hard to believe that it’s been 10 years since our world changed on September 11, 2001.  Like many of you, I’m sure this is one of those events that you remember exactly where you were.  I was on my way to work and had just pulled in the parking lot when the first plane hit.  It wasn’t until after the second plane hit that I realized that something was terribly wrong and I was terrified.  I remember wondering if it was going to stop?  Was something going to happen in St. Louis?

I remember crying on the drive home.  I needed to be near my husband.  I needed to be safe.  I needed someone to tell me everything was going to be okay, even if no one knew for sure.

That day and the days that followed were filled with so much anger.  Rightly so.  How could someone do that to the United States?  Why would they want to hurt us?  I still get overcome with anger and sadness the moment I see images from that day.  I am a very emotional person, so while I have a feeling that sadness will always be there when I think back to September 11th, I would like anger to not have such a big place in my heart.  I want it to feel different this year.  So, I am challenging myself and I want to challenge you.

The morning of September 11, 2001 was just another morning for everyone.  A quick kiss and hug good-bye.  Maybe, yelling at the kids to eat their breakfast.  Making lunches for school.  Checking e-mail before going into work.  Things that we do every single day.  No one could have known what was about to happen.   That’s my point.  Life can change in a second.  So, instead of feeling so much anger on September 11th, I think we should use it as a reminder to treat each day as a gift.  Hug and love those closest to you.  Every. Single. Day.

The anniversary of one of the saddest days in our country’s history reminded me why Generosity Day speaks so LOUDLY to me.  I challenge you to counter a day that happened because of hatred and anger with generosity.    I think it is important to remember that day.  To honor those that were lost.  To celebrate those that survived.

Remember, the “official” date of Generosity Day is February 14, 2012.  I say, let’s get that party started EARLY!

