I wouldn’t know.  I’m not retired.

Once some of my family members heard that I was leaving my full time job, I was immediately asked the following questions:

What’s it like being retired?
What’s it like being a parent?
What do you do with all your free time?

Um, I’m not retired.  I’ve always been a parent.  I’m not really sure what you mean by “free time”.  I don’t want to take the time to explain to people that while yes, I’m not going to an office every day,  that I do still work.  I tried explaining it once, but I got an eye roll and a “yeah, sure”.

Not going to an office, not having to clock-in is very strange to me.  It’s all I know.  My new world is a little different.  Now, I’ve got Jordan with me all day and Joey is going to daycare for 1/2 days.  If I have meetings I schedule them in the morning and then the afternoons are reserved for fun family time.

I feel very lucky to have this opportunity.  I’m doing work that excites me.  Work I can be passionate about.  Work that is allowing me to learn new things.  However, the balance between time with my kids and my own need to make a difference in the world, contribute to our family’s income and keep my own skills sharpened is challenging.  I’m not afraid to say that I love to work, I love being busy, I love learning new things.   I’m also not afraid to say I don’t want to spend every day all day with my children.  I have said before that I think I’m a better parent because I do work.

I treasure those moments that I do find my kids doing something cute.  But, not working?  No way.  there is to much work that needs to be done.

