Hi everyone!  It’s been a while since my last post.  I think the #Trust30 challenge was just that…a challenge.  I pooped out when that was over.

I’m still here and have been surprisingly busy with my life since leaving full time employment.  My kids are visiting their grandparents this week in Kansas.  We did the trade off on Saturday, and on Sunday I thought I would be driving back to Kansas City to pick up two homesick kids, but they have settled in and all is well.  I miss them a ton when they’re gone, but the time away gives my husband and I time to reconnect and have conversations without being interrupted 82 times during dinner.  Always a plus.

While driving to Kansas City, I began reading Walk Out Walk On by Margaret Wheatley and Deborah Frieze.  It’s an amazingly inspirational book about not accepting the norm and creating your own.  It’s about solving problems.  It’s about being engaged with your community.  It’s about working with what you have and not what you’re missing.  I’ve underlined so many parts of this book and folded over so many corners of pages, it’s hard to just pick out one to share with you.  I decided to give you a little taste of their take on the importance of play in our work.  Seems to me that more often than not, we’re all taking ourselves a bit to seriously.

Walk Out Walk On talks about the need for play not only in our work, but at solving problems.  They argue that the “command and control leadership smothers basic human capacities such as intelligence, creativity, caring, dreaming.  Yet it is the most common form of leadership worldwide.”  It seems like so many times that when a problem comes up, we all start out with the best of intentions in solving it, but that quickly turns into getting so bogged down in the process that we quickly lose site of what we’re trying to solve in the first place.  Or, the “problem-solvers” are so far removed from the situation and the community that they’re not even sure what the core problems are.  This reiterates the point that we need strong individuals who aren’t afraid to walk out and walk on in solving problems.  There isn’t any reason that we just need to accept the status quo.

Especially when the status quo is crap.

I’ll leave you with this quote about the importance of play.

How did we forget who we are?
Play is not a foolish waste of time.
Play is not a mindless diversion from work.
Play is how we rediscover ourselves.
Play is how we ignite the human spirit in which our true power lies.

How will YOU incorporate play into your work today?

