Day 30 of #Trust30 – 10 Year Text by Tia Singh

Speak what you think now in hard words, and tomorrow speak what tomorrow thinks in hard words again, though it contradict every thing you said today. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Imagine your future self, ie, you 10 years from now. If he/she were to send you a tweet or text message, 1) what would it say and 2) how would that transform your life or change something you’re doing, thinking, believing or saying today?

(Author: Tia Singh)

Ten years from now, I’ll be 43.  My kiddos will be 17 and 12.   (OMG.)

My tweet would say – @jamidix be who you are, accept who you are, embrace who you are.  do the same for those around you.

We all have issues.  I think the difference in people is some are better at hiding their issues than others.  I have a hard time letting people into my inner circle.  Letting them know who I really am or telling people how I really feel.  I can literally see a wall around myself for certain people.  I’m scared of letting them get to close.  I’m afraid of getting hurt.  I’m afraid to be who I am at all times for fear that I might be rejected by the ones I love.  I’m stubborn.  I expect people to change if I don’t like the way they behave or what they believe.  I don’t like people telling me what to do or how to be.

So, I bring a lot to the table.  But, I also care deeply.  I love my family more than anything.  I would do anything if you asked.  It’s nice to be needed.  So, ten years from now, I want to be able to truly accept and embrace who I am and those around me.  I think if I could do that now it would lead to deeper, more meaningful relationships.  It would mean more happiness.

 

