Day 29 of #Trust30 – Overcoming Uncertainty by Sean Ogle

Nothing can bring you peace but yourself. Nothing can bring you peace but the triumph of principles. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Write down a major life goal you have yet to achieve or even begin to take action on. For each goal, write down three uncertainties (read: fears) you have relating to each goal. Break it down further, and write down three reasons for each uncertainty. When you have three reasons for your fear, you’ll be able to start processing the change because you know where the fear stems from. Now you’ll be able to make a smaller changes that push you towards your larger goal. So begins the process of “trusting yourself.”

(Author: Sean Ogle)

MAJOR LIFE GOAL…MAJOR LIFE GOAL…

President? Nope.   Run for some sort of Office?  Nope.  Be a movie star?  Nope.

Move to an island and work at a beach bar?  Totally.  (I’m not kidding.)

In all seriousness though, I never had super-high aspirations for my career.  Call me an underachiever, but all I’ve ever wanted out of life is to raise good kids, have a good marriage, do good work, vacation to new places, learn to relax and enjoy life.

For some people, my list probably looks pretty average.  Boring.  Some people wouldn’t even consider those goals.  But, I look at that list and think they’re all pretty major.  Kids.  Marriage.  Work.  Vacation.  Relax.

Funny how vacation and relax were listed last.

The word MAJOR scares me.  Frankly, so does GOAL.  Setting a goal takes commitment.  Dedication.  For me, setting a goal means saying it out loud.  Once you say it out loud you’re committing.  Maybe its the commitment piece I’m scared of.  What if I can’t do it?  Self-Doubt.

God, it always seems to go back to that one place…self-doubt.  I hate that place.

If I set a goal, but don’t actually commit, it means I won’t have to be as disappointed in myself.  It means I don’t need to feel that ashamed or embarrassed.

But, oh the feeling of reaching a goal.  Pride.  Happiness.  Accomplishment.

I know I’m raising good kids.  We were recently at Q’doba having a quick lunch before running errands and Jordan needed sour cream.  She went up to the cashier by herself, waited for him to see her and asked if she could please have some sour cream and then finished it off with a thank you.  There was a woman standing nearby who got her meal, sat down and then came over to tell me how incredibly polite she was.  Those are the moments I live for now.

Marriage is always a work in progress.  For me, it’s one of those things where you think everything is fine and then BOOM it’s so, not fine.  But, somehow we’ve managed to keep working at it and I live for those moments where you really connect and see eye to eye on something.  It feels good.  It feels like you’re doing something right.

While I’m not fully employed at an organization forty hours a week, I haven’t been so excited and passionate about the work I am doing in a long time.  I am incredibly fortunate to be in the position I am right now.  Mornings are reserved for work.  Afternoons are reserved for kids.  It’s a great balance.

Vacation and relaxation.  Those will come with time….and money:)

I don’t have the magic answer when it comes to goals and how to achieve them.  All I know is what I believe…if you want anything bad enough, don’t sit back and wait for it to be handed to you.  Get up and work really, really hard to achieve whatever it is you’re dreaming of and don’t be afraid to ask for a little help along the way.

Now, about that bar job…

