Day 21 of #Trust30 – You Know by Jen Louden

Nothing is at last sacred but the integrity of your own mind. Absolve you to yourself, and you shall have the suffrage of the world. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

We live in a society of advice columns, experts and make-over shows. Without even knowing it, you can begin to believe someone knows better than you how to live your life. Someone might know a particular something better – like how to bake a three-layer molten coconut chocolate cake or how to build a website – but nobody else on the planet knows how to live your life better than you. (Although one or two people may think they do.) For today, try asking yourself often, especially before you make a choice, “What do I know about this?”

(Author: Jen Louden)

Who doesn’t doubt themselves occassionally?

I think I doubt myself more than I should.

Occasionally, I like to tune into Oprah or Dr. Phil.  Makes me feel better about myself.  At least I’m not that crazy!

What about Hoarders or Intervention?  Not even close.

I’ve got a good head on my shoulders.  Very level headed.  Lots of common sense.

I don’t pretend to know something I don’t.

When did our society turned into everyone being an expert on everything?

When did everyone begin believing that we needed to hear what they had to say?

When did we stop listening to each other and just keep rambling?

When did we stop trusting our gut when it comes to making decisions and listen to what a friend or family member, or worse yet some so-called “celebrity” on television?

We are all experts on at least one thing – ourselves.

Trust yourself.  Trust your gut.

And, for the love of God, turn off Dr. Phil.

Do you have shows that you watch that make you feel better about your life?

 

 

 

