Day 16 of #Trust30 – Wholly Strange and New by Bridget Pilloud

When good is near you, when you have life in yourself, it is not by any known or accustomed way; you shall not discern the foot-prints of any other; you shall not see the face of man; you shall not hear any name;—— the way, the thought, the good, shall be wholly strange and new. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Can you remember a moment in your life when you had life in yourself and it was wholly strange and new? Can you remember the moment when you stopped walking a path of someone else, and started cutting your own?  Write about that moment. And if you haven’t experienced it yet, let the miracle play out in your mind’s eye and write about that moment in your future.

(Author: Bridget Pilloud)

If I’m being completely honest with myself.  I can’t think of a time when I stopped walking the path of someone else and started cutting my own.  I tend to be a follower.

I don’t think it’s a bad thing.  I’m a great collaborator.  Team player.  Hard worker.

I tend to shy away from the stage, that’s all.

But, what I do love is feeling wholly and new.  I can remember being dropped off at my dorm Freshman year of college and saying good-bye to my parents and going back to my room and feeling so grown up and alone.  Navigating a huge campus, figuring out who your friends were, the tough professor, carrying around an enormous backpack, late night study sessions.  It seems like it was just yesterday still wholly and new.

I remember my first date with my husband.  It was October 1st.  I remember the butterflies I felt in my stomach when the doorbell rang and we left for dinner.  Getting to know each other, figuring each other out.  The first kiss.  What an amazing wholly and new feeling.

Motherhood.  Having the nurse place my  newborn baby girl in my arms and realizing in that moment that I was going to be responsible for another human being.  Wholly and new.  And overwhelming.

Don’t believe for one second that just because you’re not setting on some never before traveled path – it doesn’t matter – it’s YOUR path.  It’s your only path.  You can still feel something that’s wholly and new.  For me, all I have to do is drive through a campus in early Fall, see a young couple at a restaurant or smelling baby lotion again.  Everyone has their own moments, the important thing is to never forget them.

