Day 13 of #Trust30 – Surprise by Ashley Ambirge

I will not hide my tastes or aversions. I will so trust that what is deep is holy, if we follow the truth, it will bring us out safe at last. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Think of a time when you didn’t think you were capable of doing something, but then surprised yourself.  How will you surprise yourself this week?

(Author: Ashley Ambirge)

Love that quote.

It’s extremely painful for me to talk about myself and my accomplishments.  I’m outgoing, but don’t want to be the center of attention.  I hate Halloween because I don’t want to be stared out while I’m in my costume.  I haven’t worn a costume since probably 4th grade.

The last time I was really proud of myself was when I trained and completed my first 1/2 marathon.

The entire time I was training, I was filled with doubt.  Could I actually run 13.1 miles?  Probably not.  Maybe.  What if I can’t?  Will I be embarrassed?  I’m tired.  I can’t run today, I should probably just quit.  I have 2 kids and work full time.  Who has time for training?  My legs and/or feet hurt.  I am so clearly my own worst critic.

But, I had something to prove.  To myself.  And, I did.

See, all of those excuses above weren’t enough to keep me from trudging along.  Even when I missed two days of running.  I got back on the wagon.  I had to prove to myself that I was strong enough.  And, not just physically strong enough. Mentally tough enough.  I had to know that no matter what was going on at work, what was going with my family, what was going on with myself, that I had enough fight in me to accomplish a goal I set for myself long before I thought it was actually attainable.

I’m sure over the course of my life, I have a few times I should have been really proud of myself.  I mean, I was Homecoming Queen.  (Laughing as a type.  That’s actually the thing I could care less about.)

In all seriousness, I’m 33 years old.  The fact that the one thing I am really proud of myself happened when I was 33 is sad.  It taught me the importance of setting goals.  I have to set a goal to keep myself focused.  Keeping focused in one area of your life will allow you to stay more focused in other areas.   For me, keeping myself focused on running and staying in shape is very important to me.  The time I spend outside running or on a treadmill clears my head about work, about family, about life in general.  Running and keeping in shape also helps me keep what I eat and feed my family in check.  I’m not going to spend hours running and then refuel my body (or my kid’s bodies) with junk.

So, I encourage you – set goals.  Reach them.  Set more.  You’ll be so proud.

Of yourself.

