Day 12 of #Trust 30 – Fear by Lachlan Cotter

These are the voices which we hear in solitude, but they grow faint and inaudible as we enter into the world. Society everywhere is in conspiracy against the manhood of every one of its members. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Is fear holding you back from living your fullest life and being truly self expressed? Put yourself in the shoes of the you who’s already lived your dream and write out the answers to the following:

Is the insecurity you’re defending worth the dream you’ll never realize? or the love you’ll never venture? or the joy you’ll never feel?

Will the blunder matter in 10 years? Or 10 weeks? Or 10 days? Or 10 minutes?

Can you be happy being anything less than who you really are?

Now Do. The Thing. You Fear.

(Author: Lachlan Cotter)

So much of what I do, or better yet don’t do, is because I’m scared.

Scared I’m not smart enough.

Scared I’ll sound stupid.

Scared that I won’t have the right answer if asked a question.

Fear and insecurity are definitely holding me back from living life to the fullest, from doing the work that I know deep down I am completely capable of doing and from being my true self.  Fear allows me to keep friends and family at a safe distance so that I won’t be judged by them and so that I won’t get hurt when I feel like they do something disappointing.

Is it worth it?  Absolutely not.  I’m working on it.  I don’t think I can be my true self unless I am able to let go of the fear and just live.

