Day 10 of #Trust30 – Your Personal Message by Eric Handler

To believe your own thought, to believe that what is true for you in your private heart is true for all men, that is genius. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

What is burning deep inside of you? If you could spread your personal message RIGHT NOW to 1 million people, what would you say?

(Author: Eric Handler)

I would say slow down.  As much as I love Facebook, Twitter and surfing the web, I have recently decided that I needed to turn them off more.  It’s way more important for me to stay connected with my husband and my kids than it is the 456 “friends” I have on Facebook.

I would say listen.  How many times have you had a conversation with someone and then walked away wondering if that person heard anything you said?  On a rare occasion, I’m guilty of it.  If someone trusts you enough to talk to you about their life, show them the respect they deserve and listen.  Really listen.

I would say trust.  If you live your life guarded, I don’t think you can truly feel anything.  Love, anger, happiness, sadness.  Allow yourself to be vulnerable, trust that those around you really love you and want whats best for you.

I would say be honest.  It’s true, sometimes the truth does hurt.  But, it doesn’t hurt as much as being lied to.

I would say be open to change.  Change is never easy, but change is necessary for growth.

To believe your own thought, to believe that what is true for you in your private heart is true for all men, that is genius. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

