Day 7 of #Trust30 – Dare To Be Bold by Matt Cheuvront

Our arts, our occupations, our marriages, our religion, we have not chosen, but society has chosen for us. We are parlour soldiers. We shun the rugged battle of fate, where strength is born. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Next to Resistance, rational thought is the artist or entrepreneurs worst enemy. Bad things happen when we employ rational thought, because rational thought comes from the ego. Instead, we want to work from the Self, that is, from instinct and intuition, from the unconscious.

A child has no trouble believing the unbelievable, nor does the genius or the madman. Its only you and I, with our big brains and our tiny hearts, who doubt and overthink and hesitate.” – Steven Pressfield, Do the Work

The idea of “being realistic” holds all of us back. From starting a business or quitting a job to dating someone who may not be our type or moving to a new place – getting “real” often means putting your dreams on hold.

Today, let’s take a step away from rational thought and dare to be bold. What’s one thing you’ve always wanted to accomplish but have been afraid to pursue? Write it down. Also write down the obstacles in your way of reaching your goal. Finally, write down a tangible plan to overcome each obstacle.

The only thing left is to, you know, actually go make it happen. What are you waiting for?

(Author: Matt Cheuvront)

Looking back, it’s kind of a funny story  When I was in high school, I took one of those tests that is supposed to tell you your strengths and act as a framework for what you might want to pursue in college.  My guidance counselor told me that I had great organizational skills, something that would serve an administrative assistant quite well.

That’s right.  My guidance counselor told me I’d make a great secretary.  Ouch.

I have great parents, I am one of four kids.  My parents grew up and went to high school in the same town I was raised.  Neither of them went to college, but they knew education was important and made sure that we knew that too.  They wanted more for their children, like any parent does.  But, dreaming big?  I’m not sure any of us knew what that looked like.

I would argue, that its harder to dream big when you come from small beginnings.  I was in the middle of the country, literally.  My town was completely surround by farms and wheat fields.  I had no idea how big our world was.  I had no idea what sort of occupations were even possible.  I don’t think anyone out of my class left the state of Kansas when we graduated, including myself.  Know though, I wouldn’t change where I grew up or how I was raised for anything, but I’m not sure I really knew how to dream big then.

And now, dreaming big means something totally different.  As a parent of two small kids now, dreaming big for me means raising good kids.  Dreaming big means hoping that I raised them good enough to make good choices when they’re teenagers, ready to help them when they don’t, letting them to fall if they need to learn a lesson and praying I know the difference between the two.  Dreaming big means teaching my kids to both think big and to do big.  Dreaming big means doing what I can so that my marriage doesn’t end the way 50% of other marriages do.  Dreaming big means doing work I can be passionate about.  Dreaming big means finding a balance between work and family time.

Maybe I missed the boat on dreaming big in my younger years, but I think my dreams now are my much important.

