Day 6 of #Trust30 – Come Alive by Jonathan Mead

Life wastes itself while we are preparing to live. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

If you had one week left to live, would you still be doing what you’re doing now? In what areas of your life are you preparing to live? Take them off your To Do list and add them to a To Stop list. Resolve to only do what makes you come alive.

Bonus: How can your improve the present and not keep you in a perpetual “always something better” spiral?

(Author: Jonathan Mead)

One week to live.  I would stop holding grudges.  I would stop worrying about the list of things that never seem to get done.  I would remind my children to be honest, to be kind, to stick up for those who can’t stand up for themselves.  I would hug those that I love extra tight.  I would learn to appreciate quiet moments.  I would forgive.

I think to get past the “always something better” frame of mind, you have to be happy with yourself.  If you don’t think you’re good enough – you never will be.  If you don’t think you have enough – you won’t.  If you base your happiness on what someone else thinks of you – you’re giving them to much power and letting them decide your level of happiness and satisfaction of being.  Surround yourself with people who love you for you.  Even when it’s not pretty.  Remember, this is your life.  Make it count.

