Day 3 of #Trust30 – One Strong Belief by Buster Benson

It is easy in the world to live after the world’s opinion; it is easy in solitude to live after our own; but the great man is he who in the midst of the crowd keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude. – Ralph Waldo Emerson, Self-Reliance

The world is powered by passionate people, powerful ideas, and fearless action. What’s one strong belief you possess that isn’t shared by your closest friends or family? What inspires this belief, and what have you done to actively live it?

(Author: Buster Benson)

I honestly don’t think that I have one belief that is so radically different from any of my close friends or family.  What I do believe very strongly in is human kindness.  I believe that if you give people the opportunity to make the right choice, to do the right thing, to be a good person – they will.

I look for the best in people.  I give the benefit of the doubt (probably more than I should).  But, my purpose on this earth is to do good.  Not to judge.  I believe that if we spent more time worrying about ourselves and our own actions and taking responsibility for when we don’t always make the right choice, then the world may be a little brighter.

I believe strongly in taking care of your neighbor.  Take care of those that are less fortunate, but at the same time giving them skills to better their situation.,  Remember, we are not here to judge.  Be thankful for what you have and remember, not everyone is as fortunate.

Listen.  Sometimes people just need to know that someone cares.  A very important key here…you have to really care.  People can see it in your eyes whether or not you’re really listening, whether or not you’re caring.  Really listen.

I wish I could say that I’ve been kind, not judged and listened every single day.  I’m a work in progress.

I invite you to work with me.

