So, this has been an emotional couple of days.  Yesterday, my day consisted of letting everyone know that I wouldn’t be returning next year, watching volunteers cry in a meeting when they heard, me crying in the same meeting and a steady flow of staff coming in to ask “what am I going to do next year without you?”  So, I decided since the day was emotional already, I might as well break the news to tell my little girl that she was going to change schools next year.

I. Was. Terrified.

I didn’t know how she would react.  It is the only school she’s ever attended.  If she got sick, or a boo-boo, or just needed a hug, she could come to my office.  This was all about to change.

I told her in the car on the way home.

She cried.  I cried.

I did the best I could and told that we would of course keep in touch with her friends.

And then she was just quiet, so I shut up (because normally, I talk things to death and this was one of the few times I was speechless.  Nothing I could say was going to change this or make it any better for her).

And because it was Monday and already a banner (NOT!) day I had to go to the dentist and get a permanent crown put on.  Jordan went with me and played in the waiting room the entire time.  She’s a great kid.  After the dentist, we drove home and as we pulled into the driveway, four neighborhood kids came running to the car and I knew things were going to be okay.

It wasn’t until bedtime though that I realized all of the stress and tears and worry that I had about telling her the news was really all of my anxiety.  We finished reading, wrote in her reading log and did our happy thoughts.  She then looked up at me and said, “I’m kinda glad I get to start a new school in 2nd grade.  I mean, I’m really glad I get to finish 1st grade and that you didn’t like come in the classroom like in the middle of math and say, (she’s waving her arms at this point) “Hey, we’re going to a new school RIGHT NOW.”

I don’t think I’ve ever been more proud of her.  What is it about growing up that change, even change we’ve been wanting, causes so much stress?  I am sick as a dog today and I know it’s because the last 2 days I’ve been an emotional wreck.  All I have to say is Jordan ROCKS.

See? She's One Smart Kiddo.