One of my all time favorite songs is by Matchbox 20.  It’s called Long Day.

And if there ever was a way to describe today…it’s been a long, long day.

It became public, or mostly public knowledge that I would not be returning to my job upon the completion of this school year.

I knew when I started, that it was a place I wanted my children to attend.

I believed (still believe) deeply in its mission.

At the beginning of the year, I wrote up a long list of things that I would love to do.  It basically boiled down to me becoming the community manager.  After 11 years of doing the exact same thing, I needed change.

But, we’re stuck.  Actually, they’re stuck.

I told them what it would take for me to stay, what would make me happy, what would re-energize my heart and soul back into my work.  My idea of a community manager position answered many questions about things we haven’t done well for a really long time.  I really didn’t know how someone could say no.

They did say no, in a very indirect way.

It’s been a painful year.

Today was no different.  As I sat in one of the last committee meetings today and listened to my boss tell the group that I would not be returning.  I started to get tears in my eye.  I looked around the table and so were many of the members.  I hear the head of our committee say that “we are a better place because Jami Dix was here.”  It was all so bittersweet.

I’m getting the change, just not in a way I expected.  Funny how that works.

And, while I’m excited on a new chapter in my life (yet to be named!), I’m mourning the thought of what could have been, what should have been and what it will never be.

Farewell….it’s been a great ride.

Hello…to my new journey.

