May 1, 2011

Delta Gamma – Run for Sight

I wanted to mark this day down as the first day Jordan and I ran a 5K together.  After completing my 1/2 marathon, she said she wanted to run a race with me.  I couldn’t say no.

We had a perfect opportunity to support a friend whose daughter has been helped by the Delta Gamma Center.  You can find information about them here:  http://dgckids.org/.

We couldn’t have asked for a better morning.  The sun was shining, the temperature was just right and we were surrounded by lots of good friends.  But, today was so much more than that.

I was running with my little girl.

She squealed when we started.

She sprinted at first, but quickly realized she couldn’t keep that pace up.

We talked about the tortoise and the hare.

We walked when she needed to walk (which, to be honest wasn’t all that much!).

She beamed when we saw her 1st grade teacher on the corner cheering her on.

And, she finished strong.

Wait, we finished strong.

She finished her first 5K in a little over 46 minutes…15 minute miles for my little 7 year old’s legs.  I am SO proud.

