I knew it would happen some day.  I just didn’t know when.

Or how hard it would hit.

She’s growing up.

I remember worrying about how much formula she was getting.  Deciding which solid food to give her first.  Her first fever.  Her first cold.  What I wouldn’t give for those to be my worries today.

We had a rough day.  Sure, she’s 6..almost 7.  But, she tested me today.

As a parent, I think we all want our kids to be good kids.  We want them to be truthful.  We need them to be kind.  We want them to do their best.  We sat down tonight and talked.  She knows what her punishment is and we will stick to it, but more important than that was explaining to her that as a family how important it is to be able to trust one another. I’m sure it won’t be the last time we have this conversation.  I know that this is just the beginning.

To be completely honest though, it wasn’t really what she did that was so bothersome to me.  It was the realization that the days of worrying about what seemed so monumental 6 years ago are over.  Ouch.  Big ouch.

To my little girl:  Be kind, be brave, be truthful, do your best.  And don’t ever, ever, ever lose your smile and that great belly laugh we have all grown to love.

