I’ve been what I call a “Debbie Downer” lately.  Complaining, whining, always finding ways to make the conversation be about my problems.  Ewww…who wants to hang out with someone like that?  I don’t.

Then, it hit me.  I need to wake up every morning and make the choice to be happy.

It’s that simple.

So, that’s what I do.  I wake up, take a shower, get ready for work, get the kids ready for school, get out the door and choose to be happy.  When I start to slip to the other side, all I have to do is pull up a news website or turn on the TV and I realize, fairly quickly, that my life is really quite good.

If you’re having a down day, these are a few of the things that make me happy:

  1. Listening to a baby (any baby) laugh.  Really laugh.
  2. Listening to my 6 year old read at night.
  3. The smell of whatever I put in the crockpot that morning when I open up the back door after a long day at work.
  4. A good, sweaty run on my treadmill.
  5. Clean sheets.
  6. Being on the beach.
  7. Exploring a new city with my husband.
  8. Trying new restaurants.
  9. A good margarita.
  10. Watching KU Basketball.
  11. Talking to a good friend you haven’t talked to in a while.  The words can’t come out fast enough.
  12. My Best Friend’s Wedding.  I love that movie.
  13. Listening to my 6 year old sing to her Taylor Swift CD.
  14. Trying new coffee shops, but always happy to see a Starbuck’s.
  15. Wooden toys.  There’s just something so old school about them that I love.
  16. Seeing live music or shows.
  17. Knitting.
  18. Laughing until I cry.
  19. Watching my kids play.
  20. Warm socks right out of the dryer.

Oh, and this:

He was determined to get those sand toys back up to our room all by his self.   So, he did.  He walked every last step and I loved watching every minute of it.

