Photo by @caron

I might be one of the very few who is annoyed by the “kids say the darnedest things” you find in almost every parenting magazine.  I always read them and think that the parent probably made it up just to get their kids in a magazine.  Maybe it’s just me.  I don’t know.

Every night after I read with my daughter, we do “happy thoughts”.  Happy thoughts are just that, things that made her happy during the day.  They range from lunch, to  recess, to math, to reading, you get the picture.  It’s always fascinating to me to hear the simple things that make her happy.  And, frankly, it puts my day into perspective.

Tonight though, I was amazed and proud at the conversation we had following her happy thoughts.  She was explaining to me that she doesn’t understand why people use the word ‘hate’.  Today at lunch a kid at her table said that she “hates pie”.  My daughter said, “Mom, why couldn’t she have just said, “I really don’t like pie.”  Hate is such a bad word”.  Yes, my love it is.

I know as she gets older and learns more about the world that she might be more jaded and pessimistic.  What I hope she holds onto forever is the belief that “hate is such a bad word”.  Why?  Because it just is.  While she was going into way more detail about the conversation, about how she told her friend to just say “I really don’t like pie”, and how everyone talked over her, I allowed myself to just imagine for a second…What if?  What if we lived in a world without hate.  I can’t even conceive what that would look like.

I know life isn’t easy, it’s not always simple.  But if we could all, for a moment stop judging, stop talking, stop guessing what others are thinking, stop worrying about what everyone else is doing and focus on being our best self for us or for our children – do it.  Those are all things we have control over.  Will that eliminate hate or anger worldwide?  Nope.  But, it will make your corner of the world a little bit better.  I guarantee that.

